Sell or Cashout Refinance?

22 Replies

I'm currently active duty military and am having to move next summer. I purchased my house last summer and have built around $80k in equity. My only hesitation on keeping the property is that I'd be having to manage the property from across the country.

Recommendation to sell and reinvest or cash out refinance and rent or Air BnB?

@Charles Elliott what market are you in? That will affect a lot what strategy might work best. Also what are your goals, ie cashflow buildup, rolling equity into subsequent properties, etc?

As for refinancing, I'm an Air Force vet myself. Did you use your VA loan for the purchase? If so, you only have a certain amount of ‘entitlement' that you can use; you can look it up and it's based on county you're purchasing in and unit count (SFH, 2-unit, 3-unit, etc). If you are planning on using your VA loan again when you PCS, you are required to ‘dispose' of it (such as selling it) or get a one-time reinstatement of benefit in order for your full entitlement to be restored so you can use it again if you don't have enough ‘entitlement' left otherwise you'll have to put 25% of the difference as a down payment. I've met a lot of military and vets that don't know this. For example, we bought a home here in Meridian, Idaho using my VA loan 2 years ago. We won't be staying here forever, and I wanted to have my VA loan available for when we do move, so thanks to the INSANE amount of appreciation in the Southwest Idaho market, we have well over 20% equity now and just refi'ed our house into a conventional 30-year mortgage with the same interest rate and I'm in the process of doing the one-time restoration to fully free up my VA loan to use again. Not sure if this applies to your situation or not.

Keep it. Interview PM's, have someone manage for you. I love AirBnB's if you are allowed to and the market can sustain it. Let the equity build and utilize the equity to further invest.