People First or Deal First?

7 Replies

Hi all,

I've been listening to the BP podcast for over 3 years now and I'm finally jumping in and starting the pre-approval process in the Minneapolis, MN market! 

My question is, did you guys find the team first or the deal first? (i.e contractor, handyman, property manager)

Thank you so much! 

@Devin Danielson Great question, you need an investment-focused Realtor & Loan officer before a deal, but that's it.   After finding those two, your efforts should be 100% on finding a deal before you worry about contractors and handymen.   Your need for a PM will depend on if you plan to live in the property and your proximity to the property.

I agree with Tim. Getting the right team on the front end is most important when you are stating out.  Lender and Real Estate agent who's expertise is investment properties.  Our team has a list of contractors and handymen to work with when you get started.  The more deals that you do, the bigger your team will become.  

Promotion
Marko Rubel
ATTENTION INVESTORS
Get Deals 100% Funded – No Credit, No Banks, No Job Verification
New Unlimited Funding® program for investors: low-interest, without banks or shark lenders.
Check availability

Find your contractors, your REA's, and as many lenders as you can find first. You can't build anything in life without the proper tools, so collect the tools first. What deals you can/can't do depend entirely on what your team can/can't do. Not all properties are deals for all REI that find them. One of the biggest differences from one deal to the next is if that REI can execute the deal...which comes right back to your team/tools, and what they can help you do.