Should I focus on finding my first investment out of state?

21 Replies

Hi Everyone - I am new to Bigger Pockets and looking for some advice. Hopefully, this is the right place! 

I am currently living in New Jersey and finally working towards my first investment property (multifamily/Airbnb). With the high property taxes in NJ and how expensive it is to purchase, I am not sure if buying in NJ is the right move financially. 

What are your thoughts on finding my first investment property out of state? Have you purchased a multifamily/host Airbnb outside of the state that you live in for your first deal? What advice would you have for being a landlord from another state, finding the right markets, working with agents/lenders, etc?  Thank you a bunch for all your advice and insight. 

@Kenneth Rose hey Kenneth. Can definitely understand where you are coming from. Many locations in NJ if you are buying on market or conventionally can be pricey. Good news is there's several ways and locations/markets to acquire your first rental in NJ. Partnering with experienced investors, working with an agent who invests, doing direct to seller marketing yourself are just a few ways. 

Promotion
Sundae
Property Marketplace
Find Professionally Vetted Properties from Motivated Sellers
Eliminate the need to hunt for houses again. We bring your next investment opportunity to you.

meet ups, face book groups are good places to start networking. friend your local agents on face book. I have clients that only do out of state investing  because the pricing is cheaper. You have to have a solid team around you! agent, property manager and lender to name a few.