1 Year Later, No Deals --- Help!

8 Replies

I am new to the investing world. I’m been working as a bird dog. My problem … I haven’t gotten any deals in the year that I been doing this. I need help in understanding what I’m doing wrong.

I have tried;
1) A series of letters, sent every 2 weeks to pre-foreclosure homeowners
2) Postcards and flyers placed on community bulletin boards
3) Drive by and note homes that look vacant and due research on owners, then tried calling
4) Let everyone know that I’m in business
5) Working on a website to market my bird dog service

What am I missing? After a year of doing this, I though I would have gotten something. I’m not ready to give up. I see others on the forum making deals, I believe I can also. I need some guidance, please advise. Thanks in advance.

Thanks Jorge, I was wondering if it was a lack of patience or wrong marketing.

My marketing plan consists of a series of letters that include 7 different letters, 3 different postcards and 2 different flyers.

Persistence, persistence ... I know I can make it, thanks again.

Well if you've done this consistently throughout a year, I dont think patience is really the answer.
How well are your ads worded? Have you done this on a consistent basis? Do you answer the phone when they call? How well are you handling the calls? Do you get there before the next guy?
You're losing them somewhere. It shouldnt take a year to find one deal.

Oakdragon,

First, it may be that your market is terrible for flipping. When a bubble starts to deflate, the first thing that happens is that speculators leave the market. Without the speculators and with an increasing number of foreclosures and tighter credit standards, the flipping fad is largely over. So, a lot of your problem may simply be your market.