Complete Beginner in Real Estate Investing

11 Replies

Hello there dear investors, real estate professionals. Let me ask a completely silly question. I am a 33 year old man. I only have about $5,000 saved. I do have a decent credit score of 740. Not a great score but not bad. Is there a chance for someone in my situation to start investing rental properties?

I don't know where to start, I don't know if I qualify for getting a loan, or what kind of loan I should get?

My goal is to buy and rent out and accumulate properties over time.

I am not trying to ask for a Mentor but if you know someone in Colorado, I would be glad to speak with them. Also, please note, I am just trying to ask for some words of wisdom. So, any advice would be highly appreciated. 

Welcome to BiggerPockets! Where to start is not a silly question at all. Which part of Colorado are you interested in starting to invest in?  Are you familiar with house hacking and would potentially want to go that route?

I would recommend https://www.biggerpockets.com/... which will help guide you along the way. As I like to think, you began investing in Real Estate the moment you took interest and started along the road of investing in your first property. 

Is it plausible in your market to find an investment or primary home were grants, FHA loans, can be leveraged to make the $5,000 stretch out, I do not have that answer, but some research surely can answer it for you

Myself being new on the adventure of real estate, my advocacy is learning the market I want to continue to invest in, analyzing deals, and becoming an expert. Welcome again to bigger pockets, and congratulations on starting your journey.