Broker value to fees - where to hang my license?

8 Replies

Always lots of debate on BP about whether REIs should get their real estate license. Well as a newbie, I made it a priority to do so and I'm pleased I went through the process. I'm now interviewing brokers to determine where to hang my license.

Many brokers offer at least basic training but some go above and beyond, including mentorships, advanced training, etc. Of course that all comes at a cost, so do you feel it's worth the additional fees and less of a commission split to be part of such a brokerage? Or find an inexpensive broker, take advantage of the basic offerings, and bank the fees for investments?

Appreciate your thoughts.

Medium ambassador properties logoMike Dmuchoski, Ambassador Properties | 412.915.2179 | http://www.WeBuyHomesInPhoenix.com | AZ Agent # SA652420000

It depends on your goals with real estate. Are you planing on being a realtor first and doing investing on the side, or spending most of your time doing investing and being a realtor part time? The bigger brokerages usually have more to offer you as a beginning realtor in training, website help, and paying for some of the fees and costs that the smaller brokerages don't. So even though they take a bigger cut of your sales, you have less expenses per month usually. The smaller companies that offer you a higher cut won't pay for much for you so you will have more costs per month and maybe even a desk fee. when starting out it is usually better to go with who offers you the best training and least amount of upfront and monthly fees since you probably won't be selling too much your first year. Once you have a lot of clients and do a lot of sales then find someplace with better commission split. Where I work the commission is determined by how many sales you had the year before. The higher amount of sales you do the better your split will be. I know a few companies that do it this way and it works pretty well.