Finding an investor friendly realtor

8 Replies

I'm new to investing, but not new to real estate; I'm well aware that the agent really is there for the seller, not the buyer - and as a newbie investor I seem to be having a difficult time finding a realtor who is investor "friendly" - who won't leak your info or strategy to the seller and therefore blow the deal (which just happened); or who won't try to stick you with commissions they did not earn.  A realtor tried to get me to sign a commission agreement guaranteeing he would receive a minimum of $3000 per transaction, whether he sold the property, or I sold it; or whether it was sold by other means - i.e, even if the commission turned out to be less than $3000.   He wanted me to make up the difference!  Are there any investment friendly realtors in the Philadelphia, PA area?  I started reading the Handbook for Realtors - I wonder what it would take to get them to read it? Hmmm... Any advice you can give would be greatly appreciated. 

You see a lot of people want realtors to do all of this work and don't want to pay.  We work for commissions,  not to mention we have our own investments going on. And investors wants you to put these super low ball offers in, pull a million comps, and etc... and don't have anything to offer for your time.  If you're specific about what you want,  and are actually pulling the trigger on properties then you shouldn't be a problem finding a realtor willing to work with you.