Question for people who flip and are licensed

7 Replies

Regardless of state law (most of which require lots of disclosure), as a real estate agent or broker, do you disclose what you plan to do with the property after you purchase from a non bank or government owned property.  Someone asked me last weekend if I could get sued if a person gets mad if they find out I resold a property for more than I purchased it for.  As a realtor, I have to disclose everything.  I wonder if I should have the seller sign a statement saying I'm going to resell this property after I rehab and the seller understands that they could do the same but they are agreeing to sell as is.

Maybe I'm over thinking because I'm studying for my broker's license and getting hit over the head with all the things I shouldn't do and the consequences for screwing up.

There is a very fine line when it comes to wholesaling as a licensed real estate agent.   Full disclosure is key if you are licensed.   

Generally, when you disclose your license they will ask if you intend to resell it, in that case, don't mislead them. If they don't ask there is no requirement to disclose anything other than you license.

Last one I bought, the bank asked me if I was going to sell it, I don't have an active Broker's license anymore, didn't have to disclose the license, but they knew me! I said "Everything I have is for sale except my kids, you can have them for free!" I told them no, that at that time I was going to hold it, but if the opportunity arose, I might. So, that didn't go any further.

Point is, they "feel like" if there is money on the table, they want it, my feeling is, they should be sophisticated enough to get their best price regardless of what buyers intentions are. But, many aren't.