Is it reasonable for a seller to put in contract: Seller pays seller commission, Buyer pays buyer commission?

9 Replies

That way, if the buyer wants to buy on his own, he can save the $$, and if he feels the need for an agent, he can feel free. The seller or listing agent have no interest. Unless of course the listing agent can find a buyer to represent.

Thoughts?

@Ben Bakhshi  

Most listing agreements will specify that listing agent will get a certain commission and will pay a portion of that commission to the buyer agent.  If there is no buyer agent, the buyer isn't saving any money, nor is the seller saving because the listing agent will typically receive both transaction sides of commission. Placing your suggested language in a purchase contract will not change the terms of the listing agreement. 

I am a Managing Broker and represent clients looking to buy investment properties.  I think they would shy away from that because usually they have enough money for the down payment, reserves, and rehab.  And they look to roll as much as possible into the loan to save their cash.  

For example, lets say the house is $200k and the commission is 2.5% - that is $5k cash that they have to put up. But if the house was sold for $205k it is only $1k more cash with a 80% LTV - $350 more cash if it is a FHA 3.5% down loan

You could, but you'd severely limit your prospective buyer pool, since it will be buyer agents with buyers who see the listing, much more so than actual investors scouring whatever sources the listing agent uses to market.  Sounds good on paper, but in reality.....Penny wise, pound foolish.