Can i still Wholesale deals with a RE License??

9 Replies

Hello! I'm a 26 yr old beginner in Real Estate, and have worked on several wholesale deals. Recently i have decided to go for my RE license. In my few deals in wholesaling in Chicago i have ran across some Brokers who also say they are Wholesalers as well. I wanted to know how does this dynamic work? Also when i complete my License will I, as a Broker, Still be able to Wholesale deals?? If so, how do i do so and remain Ethical and Professional. Obviously since i have been wholesaling, my mind tends to lean towards investing and making a Profit for Myself rather than working on behalf of a Seller...any advice on how i can use my RE License to help me flip properties, and propel me to be a Great Investor?? 

Just a couple of things.  When you complete your license, you're going to be a sales agent and you'll work for a broker.  There's a big distinction there because your broker is who sets the rules for you.  That's why it is important to pick the right brokerage. Also, here's how to get an Illinois real estate license.

With that out of the way, there's absolutely no reason why you can't wholesale deals with a real estate license. In fact, you're setting yourself up very nicely by getting your license. First of all, you're not going to save commission when you buy most of the time (since you'll likely not be buying listed property. However, you're going to turn it around and save yourself the commission (at least half of it) when you sell! Furthermore, you get to decide how it shows up on the MLS and you'll build a lot of valuable relationships with other agents that are going to help you immensely.