Brokers license for MD attorneys

10 Replies

I am an attorney in Maryland and I know that as an attorney I can take the test to become a licensed broker without having to fulfill any of the prerequisites (e.g. two years realtor experience). Are there any attorneys out there who have done this in Maryland? I just want to see if this proposition is actually true. Taking a quick test and being able to look at as many properties as I want whenever I want just sounds too good to be true!

Also if there are any MD brokers out there, can you point me in the right direction as to study materials? Thanks a lot!

As an attorney, i am certain you have the right to represent yourself as your own realtor, and get paid on it....however, there must exist prerequisites to function a brokerage where you would be potentially managing other realtors and their/ their clients money. I would call the Md. real estate commission for info.

@Sandra Holt: Have you looked at the National Association of Realtors website? If that doesn't spell it out you need to check the regional NAR chapters, such as the Baltimore Board of Realtors, or the Greater Capital Area Association of Realtors (GCAAR) websites to get information pertaining to brokerage requirements in the state of Maryland.

A realtor needs to be an agent for 5 years before becoming a broker, and my understanding is the coursework is pretty demanding. A lot of it is legal training, though, so that may be why you can get a shortcut as an attorney. You need to do some checking. Good luck with it.

In Mass as an attorney I just needed to apply to become a Broker (and pay the bond). No test and every few years at renewal I just pay the fee to the state and get a new bond.

The real estate agents do get pissed when I say I am the broker and the client and insist on splitting the fee but when it is my listing and they bring the client, I split the fee

Originally posted by @Sandra Holt :