Pre-qualifying Investors

9 Replies

Hello agents,

For regular home buyers and sellers, I use a set of pre-qualifying questions such as:

1) Why do you want to buy? What's your motivation?

2) When do you want to move in?

3) What type of home do you want? 

4) Where do you want to move?

For Investors, what types of pre-qualifying questions do you ask for your investors?

Also, do you give a buyer's presentation or make them sign a buyer's agency form?

I apologize if this question is stupid.  I'm a newer agent and there is usually nobody in my office that I can ask because nobody actually goes to the office. 

I primarily work with investors and my services to my investors looks very different than my service to my retail buyers. So using the same script isn't going to work. With my retail buyers I use auto-emails and can usually get away with that unless I know they are more serious. With my investors I can go through every property before sending them out.

As far as pre-qualifying, I am happy to help them if they are just starting, but I won't submit offers or even look at properties without a pre-qualification letter or proof of funds first. Investors need their financing in place before having a deal in place in my opinion.

Often times investors are working with other agents in different markets. I always make sure they aren't working with any other agent in my market first. But I won't make them sign an agency relationship doc until I am submitting an offer on a property for them, and often times that agency relationship is written to be valid only for the specific property I am writing an offer on. I usually try to encourage sight-unseen offers with an inspection contingency, otherwise you can spend a lot of time looking at properties that your client won't bid high enough on to get.

Making sure the buyer has the ability to buy is a great first step.