Listing agent??

21 Replies

Is it a bad idea to go directly through the listing agent to purchase a property? If I choose to go through a realtor, (found him through Realtor.com) does that agent automatically become a buyers agent? Any insight would be much appreciated!

@John Yanko

Hey John,

I am a Realtor in South Carolina.  If I am the listing agent on a property, then I am representing the seller.  If you call a listing agent about a property that they have listed, then of course they are representing the seller of that property.   Find a Realtor that seems to specialize in the type of property that you're looking for.  Tell them your criteria and check out a few houses.   In SC you are not represented by a Realtor until you have that agreement signed in writing by both parties.  I hope I am explaining this properly.  I could've explained it much better in two or three lines.  :)    Hope this helps.

Adam

The act of "agency" is a usually a written agreement in moat states but it is also an ethical responsibility for the agents involved. We ask if a person is working with another agent so as to not step on another licensees deal which could be a conflict of interest. in addition, a Listing agent has often asked the seller for the right to become a dual agent when he lists the property if it is allowed by state law and the broker. When allowed, he must use special paperwork giving consent and full disclosure to both parties so all know of his split interest and that he works for both buyer and seller. In this type of transaction, normally the agent may provide information to either party about the property, but cannot discuss price at all. He also normally gives a discounted commission price to the seller allowing for the possibility of bigger discount and a lower price to the buyer. Much of this is covered in the individual state laws and MLS regulations where the property resides.

@Adam Drummond