Direct Mail for Farming Areas in Los Angeles, CA - Question

14 Replies

Hello All My Bigger Pockets Agents,

I am a newly licensed agent in Los Angeles and I am looking for a bit of advice regarding my idea for direct mail. The book I am reading says I need 2500 people in my "haven't met" list to market to 12 times a year in order to achieve 50+ listings.

My idea is to get a list from Alesco Data and have it filtered for the surrounding cities where I live. The list will also be filtered for homeowners who have purchase 5-7 years ago and may be looking to move. I was also thinking to only search for properties that were purchased at $500k or more since the list is likely to be more than 2500 even at that point.

Once I have my list I was thinking of using yellowletters.com to put the mailings on auto pilot for three month stints or longer depending on how often I need to refresh my list of homeowners. In the mean time I will be working on my 8x8 marketing campaign to start funneling the people I "have met" into my lifelong 33 touch marketing campaigns.

Thoughts, comments and or recommendations greatly appreciated!

We often hear in the industry that it's 7 years between moves.  But in some neighborhoods we're buying from people who have been there 20+ years.  So, I wouldn't use 5 to 7 years.  I'd use 7+ years (7 to 20 or 25 perhaps).

I don't know Alesco (it looks suspiciously like Click2Mail - same terrible data search interface).  They may be fine, but I would use Listsource.com which is provided by CoreLogic - probably the single biggest data provider to the real estate and mortgage industries.