Denver Broker's Assistant

8 Replies

Right now I want to work underneath a broker while I am working on my getting my Brokers License.  

1. Where in the Biggerpockets forums can I find Agents that are looking for assistants? Would that be the BP Marketplace? If so, how do you search the BP marketplace forums so I can find only those posting for the Denver area? 

2. Is it common for agents to compensate assistants on an hourly 1099 wage while they are training? I want to dive head first into RE but I need a source of income while I am studying and working under a broker. I can't go without working while I study for my exam. 

Originally posted by @Shawn McMahon :

1. Where can I find Agents that are looking for assistants?

Craigslist is your best bet, not BP. That is how I got my start in RE. Make sure to follow up with EACH resume you send out. Persistence is key. Post up your resume for us to critique if you want. 

Sounds good. How do you follow up if you have been only sending out replies from craigslist ads? 

Here is my resume. Critique away please!

Please note I don't have any previous work experience in RE.

I've never needed a resume (thank god) so I can't really critique that part but I will let you know that  "Immaculate" is spelled with an "i". 

it's a bit of an unusual use of that adjective,  but I think it works. Spotless and tidy organizational skills? Why not!

Pah!! Thanks for the heads up. I'll retweak that sentence. 

Agree the Craigslist!

And, yes, most agents pay assistants 1099s.

Now, you say you're working underneath a broker.  Are you planning on switching brokerages when you find someone to work under, if they're not in the same brokerage?  Because, it wouldn't be a good thing to work with competing brokers, if the agent you work with as a LA (Licensed Assistant) is with a different broker.  Heck, I don't think you're even allowed, plus you wouldn't want to.