Are you in a Big City or Small City & Why? Comment Below

25 Replies

I am currently looking at the Pros & Cons in being a realtor in a small market vs. a Big market like Houston, Texas. Please comment if you are in a Big or small market and why? 

I love the idea of being a realtor in a small market, because you can sort of get into being a big fish in a small pond, and get to where everybody in the town knows you are a good realtor. Also, the town is where I graduated from and played ball, so I have a good presence in the area.

I also love the idea of starting back home in a big market like Houston, and taking advantage of different areas. Dominate and establish a presence in one area and start expanding out into the city. Big market= more houses/people

Big market = lots of competition and people already doing much of what you can find on here. I live in a smaller market and I've thought about getting my Realtors license for the purpose of working this area because many real estate pros are much more old school and not as up to date on some of these strategies. At the same time, the clientelle aren't either. I find its much harder in the midwest to suggest seller financing options because its a change in ways for many and they don't feel comfortable with that. 

Personally I'm in a big market (St Louis) and wouldn't have it any other way. For me reasons include: better able to be a niche salesperson e.g. investors, in a metro area with a lot of opportunities to expand e.g. property management, loving the unique character of the region e.g. historic homes, wide variety of unique amenities, FOOD, and I've put in a lot of hours getting to know the local market.