Broker vs. Real Estate License

11 Replies

I am new to REI and my goal is to learn as much as possible in the field before buying my first property. After reading many threads, it seems the best way to do this is to get either a real estate or broker license. Which would you recommend and why?

There are many, many successful unlicensed investors. Don't let the pursuit of a license delay your first property. Getting licensed, and having access to the MLS, provides some advantages as well as some obstacles. Besides, most agents in my experience aren't that knowledgeable about investing anyway.

But like Ron said, it's not a choice - you can't just start off as a broker.

If you are looking for a rental property, there is no need to get your RE license. Find a good investor friendly agent in your area and have them help you find your first property. For your first one, you're going to want something relatively turnkey unless your background has been in construction or your are a glutton for punishment and want to jump right in and learn a lot of lessons all at once. 

If you were wanting to flip properties, then I would say getting your license is probably required. 

Lastly, like others have said, you can't just go get a broker's license. Almost every state requires a few years of experience under a broker to learn before they will even let you take the tests.

Originally posted by @Thanh Vu:

I am new to REI and my goal is to learn as much as possible in the field before buying my first property. After reading many threads, it seems the best way to do this is to get either a real estate or broker license. Which would you recommend and why?

Welcome to the site Thanh.

Your 1st step would be a sales license.

Prior to obtaining a brokers license you would need to be licensed for at least 2 years and perform 40 transaction sides as well as complete 2 years of college with some specific business courses included in the 2 years of college.