What is the difference between an agent and broker?

9 Replies

I ask this because I just graduated college and the old mall job isnt doing it for me. I know I want to do REI with my life but I also want something that wont take a long time to build so I feel getting my license will provide me income I can live off of for a while.

But anyways, back to the question what is the difference? What I am seeking is being able to work with investors out here, along with other people, and just providing them homes on what they want. If I am an agent will I have to report through someone? Do I have to become a broker in order to not worry about anybody?

Thanks for your help!

You will always have to worry about the people and you can work with investors each way you will have more direct access to to info as a agent an agent is just a wholesaler that abides by rules and a agents liscence is held under a broker

OK. So then for what I am looking for, basically another income stream that can sustain a 22 year old dude until the investing gets going, being an agent and getting my standard "real estate salesperson license" is just fine?

Thanks for your help Sean.

All Real Estate companies who buy and sell properties need a broker. Agents work for brokers and brokers typically sign all contracts.

Some brokers do very little beyond that, but they almost always get a piece of your commission. Can be as low as 5% and as high as 50% (or more in some cases).

Start as an agent and you can start working on your brokers license, but you don't need to go for the test if you don't want too. There is probably 4-6 months of additional education involved (in California at least).

Thanks Steve!

That was very helpful. It makes me want to get the Brokers license but I like your idea of waiting and working towards it. Thanks again for the help!