Question for Real Estate Agents Who Wholesale Properties

11 Replies

I am curious to know how those who are licensed agents handle the issue of wholesaling. I am a licensed agent and just starting out with wholesaling. Does anyone see a conflict in buying a property from someone at wholesale and profiting as a middleman when in theory you could have brought the end buyer to the seller as an agent? 

I understand that no one can guarantee a quick sale as an agent, but essentially, you are performing the same function in finding a cash buyer to take over the contract.

Help me put my mind at ease :-) Thanks!

You haven't entered into any type of agency relationship with the Seller, right? If not, how is it any different than dealing with a FSBO (who often times give away properties for less than market value)?

You MUST disclose your agent status to the Seller (and make sure your contract reflects agency as being "Represents the Buyer Only" on the signatory pages), but other than that, I don't see an issue with being a wholesaler.  What are you doing about your broker?  Hopefully, you are running these contracts through your broker.

@Cara Lonsdale I am asking to learn from the experiences of others. I am just getting back into the investment market; when I invested prior, I was not wholesaling so it was not a concern. And I am licensed, but I am not an active agent (referral agent only). I am aware I need to disclose on the contract, but was just curious to hear how others approach this.

Originally posted by @Anthony Kirlew :

@Cara Lonsdale I am asking to learn from the experiences of others. I am just getting back into the investment market; when I invested prior, I was not wholesaling so it was not a concern. And I am licensed, but I am not an active agent (referral agent only). I am aware I need to disclose on the contract, but was just curious to hear how others approach this.