Looking for the best real estate brokerage firm to work with

16 Replies

Good morning! My name is Julie Seger, I relocated to West Michigan 3 years ago from Cape Cod, Massachusetts. Now that I am more familiar with the area I have decided to obtain my real estate license. My question for all of you is, how do I decide which brokerage firm to work with? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Sincerely, Julie Seger

@Julie Seger congratulations on becoming a realtor! The answer to your question really lies with what you goals are.  When I started out as a realtor, I knew that I wanted to be an investor friendly agent in the Chicago new west suburbs. There are surprisingly few knowledgeable investor friendly realtors in the areas I work (Berwyn, Brookfield, Riverside,  Oak Park, etc), and I ended up with the brokerage I am with now because they gave me the freedom to pursue my business with investors. 

Some larger, national players will offer more "traditional" training. For instance, I don' have many opportunities to do open houses, etc. This suits me, since I would rather work with folks who discuss cash on cash return and cash flow! If you want to do a lot of traditional business, though, it may be beneficial to work with a big player to get the training and mentoring. 

Suggest you work at a name franchise that has great training program. Keller Williams etc. Desk fee, split(%) is not your priority.  Once you have the client base you can move to high split, local brokers.

Regardless you need to give your 100% putting marketing money out, find someone to work or mentor from. After 1st year if not closing is very common. Most drop out and get discouraged. Personal social contact is the key to become a successful agent.

@Julie Seger - FYI - Every agent I have ever talked with that went to a brokerage for the "training program" was very disappointed.  It's a joke really