Full Time vs Part Time Advice

4 Replies

Hello All,

I am beginning my journey into real estate and investment next month with my state's licensing course and exam. I already have a broker lined up. My mom has been the secretary for a broker for the past 30+ years. So, I grew up around the office, already have a positive relationship with the manager, and will be taking the licensing course at no cost.

I have spent my first 8 years out of college as a teacher. I have my master's and my principal certification. But I have realized that all the principals I know hate their life and are at school 24/7. I just had my first child and I know that isn't for me. Working for public education has also frustrated me to no end and I know I need out. My students are amazing and I love working with them, but other than that I have reached burnout.

My main question to those of you that have made the jump from a W-2 position, or to those of you that made the jump from part time to full time...when did you reach the point where you said "ok, it's time"? I realize that this will be different for everyone.

For me, being in education, my teaching contracts are for 1 year. So each April/May, the decision is either to go full time, or commit to another year in the classroom. When I reach May, if I chose to leave teaching, I would have approx 4-5 months expenses banked, about 2-3 months working real estate part time, and I have 1 client that already wants to buy and list with me, with 2 others potentially wanting to buy with me. I also have a wife, 9 month old, and a mortgage. I should add that I have the most supportive wife I could ever imagine and will be behind me 100%.

I'd love to hear your experience and advice. Thanks in advance for reading this book.