Using a Business Name, Is my Legal Name Viewable to Public?

9 Replies

I know many people use a DBA/LLC name as an agent, I like the idea for privacy.

However, what if someone looked up my license number on the state Real Estate website, like California Bureau of Real Estate, will it display my real legal name to the public? Will it still show my legal name and indicate that I am using a DBA name?

If a client of mine knows me by my DBA name "Joe Larry", and could look up my License # and see my real name is "Billy Bob". Simply curious to what extent a LLC name anonymizes a real estate agent.

Thanks

Originally posted by @Mike Miller :

I know many people use a DBA/LLC name as an agent, I like the idea for privacy.

However, what if someone looked up my license number on the state Real Estate website, like California Bureau of Real Estate, will it display my real legal name to the public? Will it still show my legal name and indicate that I am using a DBA name?

If a client of mine knows me by my DBA name "Joe Larry", and could look up my License # and see my real name is "Billy Bob". Simply curious to what extent a LLC name anonymizes a real estate agent.

Thanks

Depends on the state you create your LLC in. Some states are full disclosure some are not. You also can create an LLC that has an LLC that owns an LLC , etc if you are really into it. Also, you can create an LLC in any state even if you don't live there.

Hmm. So you think there's some states that will completely hide your leela name from public view if you use an LLC? This is what California's DRE website looks like. Seems to show their real name, and then there's a DBA section