Referral fees from buyers/sellers in Florida

10 Replies

I apologize if this is a stupid question but I'm a new real estate agent and I want to make sure this is legal. I've searched through my entire pre-licensing course and I couldn't find anything.

In Florida, is it illegal for a licensed real estate agent to receive a referral fee from an unlicensed buyer or seller for bringing them together?

Thanks!

I won't claim to be an expert in Florida, but I will say with confidence. Yes, it's pretty much your job :)

Your pretty much the only one who can take their money..... Well more specifically your broker can and in return pay you for it.

@Mike Cumbie thank you, Mike!

Yes, the fee would always go through my broker first, of course. :)

Short answer: Ask your broker.

Long answer:

Is it legal? Yes, probably, in most cases.

Is it done? Rarely, for several reasons.

Referral fees are normally paid from Broker A to Broker B. 

Commissions and other fees (admin fees, processing fees, consulting fees, etc) can be, and usually are, from customer to broker. 

There are several different scenarios that could play out within the scope of your question:

If you refer a seller to another broker/agent, and they take the listing and sell the property, you would typically ask that broker for a referral fee, paid to your broker. (This is common with listings that are not in your geographic area, outside your area of expertise (i.e. commercial), or whatever).

If the seller is represented by a broker, and you refer a buyer to their agent/broker, you would normally ask for a referral fee from that broker (this is less common: because why wouldn't you just rep the buyer and take the full commission?).

If both parties are unrepresented, and you just make the connection and want to charge either or both of them some kind of consulting/admin fee, that would conceivably be allowed...if your broker allows it*, and the if fee is paid to your broker.