New Real Estate Agent Question

5 Replies

I am a newly licensed agent whose focus is primarily investors. On one side I have a group of cash investors who want me to send them properties. On the other side I have a number of people (some agents but mostly not) sending me properties everyday. Some of these are great deals. My question is, how do I make my money? Do I make the investors sign buyer agency agreements? Many of the sellers dont want the extra fees I am not sure how to properly handle this.

@Karen Montague

Hi Karen, in my market California. The sellers pay the buyer's Agent commission. 

So, if you are in California, your services to the investors are free. 

Also, I highly recommend, getting the buyers agency agreement signed. Simply tell them, it's you Karen, committing to them, and vice-versa. A so called marriage.  

Hope this helps

-Rudy Vazquez

@Rudolph Vazquez. Thank you for your response. I think that’s the only way to do this. Sadly, many of the sellers don’t want to pay the commission and are doing thIs wIthout an agent I would have seek compensation from the buyer.

@Karen Montague , the answer to your question really depends where you're licensed and working. I'm a California real estate attorney and broker. If I represent the buyers in a residential transaction that is listed on the MLS, the seller typically pays my commission through the listing agent because we agree to that in the purchase agreement and in our agreement with the local Realtor association and MLS. Commercial and off market transactions operate differently and are generally subject to what is negotiated and agreed upon in a contract. You can also request that the buyers sign a buyer agency agreement specifying who pays the commission.

@Karen Montague