Is it worth getting a brokers license???

24 Replies

I am a real estate agent doing rehabs. When I buy or sell I go through my broker and doing that costs me a lot of money. I was thinking about getting a brokers license but I am not sure what are pros and cons doing that. Is it worth getting a brokers license and what are additional costs associated with that.

Another option is to find a brokerage with lower fees. For example, my wife pays just $40 per transaction, regardless of whether the sale was $10,000 or $10M. For reference, this is a medium sized brokerage (about 3000 agents), so the support and marketing are pretty decent as well.

That said, there are some advantages to getting a broker's license. Not just the savings on commission, but the additional control you have over deals. My wife's brokerage can be pretty conservative on investor-related transactions, and we're often "advised" not to do some standard investor transactions (for example, short sale flips).

So, my wife having her broker's license will give us the freedom to pursue additional investing avenues, without having to find another broker.

Also, having your broker's license gives you the opportunity to hire other agents, if that's part of your plan. Depending on your business model, this could be another avenue for income.

I recently got my broker's license and haven't determined my exact strategy on which direction I want to go with it. When I was working on all the prereqs for getting the license my thought was to eventually own a brokerage. However, rehab flips have been treating me very well...enough so that I'm not convinced I would do as well with being a broker and having multiple agents (headaches) to deal with.