Advice for a new agent

4 Replies

Hi everyone! I am a new agent in Cincinnati Ohio. I have been apart of Biggerpockets for roughly a year now while trying to buy my first buy and hold property. I decided to branch out and get my license so that I can get a grasp of the market and make money doing what I love. I am in a spot right now where I have the drive and motivation to be great but would love some guidance on things I can do to build my contacts and client list. Any advice would be welcomed! Thank you.

Hi @Eric Gross ,

I think the best way for you to grow your business would be to get into leasing. 

-Target For Rent By Owners

-Charge 1/2 month to 1 month to procure a tenant

-They will return to you year after year to help them find tenants

-When they're ready to sell, they call you. 

It's a very easy conversation to have. Provide professional photos, and generate a lease for them. Hand off the keys to the tenant and the phone number to the owner. You can find leads on craigslist, drive neighborhoods or look on local facebook groups. 

You will gain business from renters who may want to buy in the future, or help rent other places. Then market to that neighborhood of what you're doing to help owners, and watch your business grow. 

Good luck!

@Tom Parris Thank you for responding! That is something I had never really considered. I really like the idea and how it creates more business down the road. It is definitely something I am going to pursue. Thank you again!

@Eric Gross