Skip to content
Real Estate Agent

User Stats

Votes
Mauricio Rezende
  • Orlando, FL
Votes |
New realtor road map, what do you do if you're me?

Mauricio Rezende
  • Orlando, FL
Posted Sep 22 2018, 11:38
Hey guys, I've been devouring the BP podcast and finally started making my first move into real estate and want to get different opinions/critiques. This might be a lengthy post so I apologize. Last March I took my first full time job as an experiential market manager in Orlando and although my job is pretty fun I quickly realized why I was an independent contractor for so long. I don't particularly enjoy having a boss (putting it nicely). I always enjoyed working events because I'm not the shy guy, I love getting in front of people and even joined my local toastmasters group. So I finally took the real estate course online and took my state exam, first attempt I got a 72 and you need a 75 to pass. So I scheduled my second exam for the 28th this month. My girlfriend and I have talked about it a lot and we plan to buy our own house (preferably duplex) by the end of next year. I plan on proposing soon but just in case she has an account I won't say when. My main plan is to sign on with Keller Williams because of their in depth training. I used to sell insurance and the people I worked with wrote one policy in front of me, refused to let me take notes, and sent me off to get slaughtered. Needless to say I like to have a better framework then that and I do plan on keeping my full time job for awhile as well because I can't afford to go 100% full time as a realtor until I start seeing consistent results. I've read Brandon Turner's post on the ultimate realtor's guide to working with investors and plan on joining my local REIA to hopefully find a flipper that I can help find deals for. I'm going to practice analyzing deals based on the 70% rule for flippers. TLDR, my goals. 1. Become a realtor that understands how to find deals 2. Buy my first duplex within 12 months 3.