Should you get your own real estate license?

7 Replies

Hi All,

I am a general contractor in Minnesota and am looking into getting my real estate license.  What are the thoughts out there taking on both disciplines?  Do you stick to what you know and trust the agents already out there? Or do you use your own talents and pick up the extra fees?  I'm relatively new in this game but all the properties I've invested in have been found my wife on the mls.  Would be interested to see how other people feel about this.

Thanks

Pat

@Patrick Vos . If you get your own license you will need to work for a brokerage. Working for the brokerage will require you to join the realtor association and spend about $1200/year on that and any brokerage fees for each sale. Unless you are doing good volume it likely is not going to save you much. The other reason is that doing a few sales a year doesn’t give you the contacts and relationships with other agents or the experience to handle adversity during the negotiations or after the contract is signed. On one hand you if you feel comfortable you would be able to collect the broker compensation on each deal minus your expenses. On the other hand it may cost you money if negations and reading people are not in your skill set. Your transactions will not be as smooth as they would be with an agent that is doing 5 million a year in sales. That’s my biased opinion, but it comes from frustration of dealing with low volume agents that make life more difficult.