How can I start with virtually no money??

79 Replies

I wanna learn and start young but I work at restaurant and barely have enough money to pay my bills. I wanna work hard and get lead into the right direction and multiply my year to date income.

@Joshua D Rodriguez I am a newbie too but just wanted to give you some encouragement. I have started listening to podcast #300 and Zeona talks about getting started by maybe just renting out one room on airbnb, whatever you have to do to get started. That might be a good place to start!

@Joshua D Rodriguez , I would suggest you familiarize yourself with the Biggerpockets Money Show, with Mindy Jensen and Scott Trench. They have some great strategies for pinching pennies to overcome your situation. Also, you can search out the forums as others have been exactly where you are and have talked about their way out. Good luck!

Everyone has different learning preferences, but use the time while you currently have while you are saving to educate yourself like crazy. Listen to as many podcasts as you can, read every book you can find, start going to REI meetups, ask another investor if you can work for him for free, etc. I spent a solid 9 months reading 10+ books, and listening to over 100 podcasts, and built some good relationships before I started.

The best thing you can do right now outside of education is to get creative and disciplined enough to live off of 80% of your income. If you can save 20 percent per month, you'll find you'll have enough captial to land a deal, even if it's not the most amazing purchase, within a year of saving.

Hi Joshua,

Start by learning the basics and fundamentals of real estate on BP.  Lots of valuable information here.  The truth about real estate is that you need money to make money.  You need to increase your income so you can save for your first deal.