Real Estate Agent & Full Time College Student?

22 Replies

I am a full-time college student, studying Marketing, with 1.5-2 years left to go. I have been studying real estate investing for a couple months & recently closed on my first wholesale deal. I am going to continue on the wholesale route for awhile & then move on to rental properties. I plan to become a Real Estate Agent and eventually open a brokerage. 

I am contemplating on waiting until I graduate college to get my agent license or get my license now & start working as an agent while I finish school. Any experience or advice on how to approach this situation is greatly appreciated!!! 

@Jade Vaughn as someone who has a masters degree, I would challenge you to think through why you are getting the marketing degree. You already closed a wholesale deal, which is probably as hard as being an agent. Get your license and get busy! College is designed to get you a job. If you want to run a business, you can learn all the same "marketing" stuff from books and podcasts. Skip the student loans and put the money into your business. 

@Jade Vaughn I would go ahead and work towards your license while you are completing college. The first few years of a real estate career can be very slow and are moreso filled with learning and networking. I got my license during my junior year of college and by the time I graduated, I was respected as one of top brokers in the area. Had I waited, I would have been 2 years behind coming out of college.

@John Warren I definitely agree with what you’re saying! I have already put a lot into college & I don’t have too much longer to go, so I want to finish what I started. Also, having a marketing degree exempts you from having to take the required brokerage classes, so that will benefit me. Thank you for your advice!!

@Austin Baity Thank you for your reply, this helped so much!! Did you take the real estate classes online? And if so, is there a site you recommend?