Anyone investing in Wisconsin

18 Replies

Yeah for sure - I estimate we have about 1,200 mom and pop investors in Milwaukee, plus instituatutionals and commercial. Set up Milwaukee and Wisconsin as a key word alert on BP and you will get the notifications!

@Hector Aguilar , are you interested in buying rehabs or rentals or both? 

Are you ready to buy right now and if not, where are you in the process---what steps, education or team members do you need to be ready to buy? 

@Rebecca Knox

I am interesting in buying rehabs

Im new in the buying part but in the rehab part i worked as a carpenter for a remodeling company in Madison area for a couple years, after that I work as a subcontractor. Im ready to start this new aventure.

Originally posted by @Connor Stark :

@Marcus Auerbach  @Jeff Cichocki I'm interested in Wisconsin markets surrounding Milwaukee. What are your opinions on pockets that are up and coming? 

Up and coming is a tricky concept - they are by definition volatile areas, often driven by speculation or the anticipation of a major investment or new business. Who would not want to make a quick buck and look like a genius rockstar by buying before the neighborhood turned? 

The whole idea of real estate investing is rooted in protecting your principal and lowering risk as close to zero as possible. Looking back the last ten years - where should I have invested? It's mostly expensive neighborhoods that come to mind - these areas did the best. The best examples are probably Bayview and Riverwest, both have seen a big change in price levels, but both have still not fully arrived on the "great neighborhood" list; people will argue that Riverwest has been up and coming for 20 years and while prices have gone up a lot, it still feels a little sctechy and residents still don't like leaving their car on the street.