High Income Family Looking to Start in REI Full Time

6 Replies

I am looking for some advice on how you would get started if you were in a high income family.  My wife is an active duty military doctor and I am a veteran myself.  I am finishing up my degree from Old Dominion University in finance with a concentration on RE and a minor in civil engineering technology.  We are not looking at buying revenue streams, because most houses would cash flow well with a 50% down payment.  With my education though and not having to "sell or starve", I figure it is best to work within the RE industry.  The goal is to work my way to BRRRRing as much as possible in multifamily.

With that said would you get started in property management, mortgages, appraising, or as a commercial (multifamily emphasis) or residential agent?

Are you looking to invest in the States or in Guam?

You are throwing alot of ideas into the mix so trying to figure out your objective, career or investment or both.

Being a property manager, agent or appraiser as a full time endeavor is very different skill sets.

Buying and fixing a property is a different and better angle. IF you or your wife already have a job that w-2 is your best source for financing. Being an agent or appraiser usually you do not get a w-2 and if you are self employed it usually takes about 2 years of tax returns to verify income. BRRRR only works if you can find a property discounted enough and 2 if you can get enough equity to refinance. Both scenarios you need decent credit and regular income.

I dont have any knowledge about investing in Guam but if you are a veteran and you can possibly use your Veteran Loan to buy something with zero down. They even have a Veteran Loan Rehab for buying and fixing a personal residence.

Thats where I would start. Buy a slight fixer in your area, fix and occupy for 2 years and you can sell and do all over again tax free. Tell your wife we are moving every two years. Its a 2 year flip.