Job while being a realtor starting out

23 Replies

So I lost my job in June and pivoted to being a full time realtor. Do you recommend finding a full time job or part time job while getting started? I keep seeing my savings decreasing while paying my mortgage and bills, but have no real cash flow right now. 

What would you do in my shoes? I have been working in sales/ project management my whole career since college if that helps 

@Brandon Ribeiro I am also a new Realtor, after reading the millionaire real estate agent, and other agents that have been mentoring me. They all say you need to do it 100% if you want to be successful. Do you by chance have a few months of expenses saved up? That would help. I can imagine you could bank on a check within 3 months if you're all set up to start selling. (depending on your market of course)

I want to go 100% all in, but I’ve been unemployed since June and started studying and successfully passed my real estate exam in July. Im in PA, and it took over 3 weeks after I passed to actually get my license number. Now it’s September and I’ve been licensed for a little over 2 weeks.

So I’ve been depleting my savings for around 3 months now. I don’t think I can actually make it any longer without finding a job. I have about another months worth of reserves aside.

@Brandon Ribeiro sounds like we're in pretty much the same boat, I haven't worked in about 3 months and my savings is  pretty much gone! Only been licensed a few weeks as well. You know there is a benefit to having a W-2 job for a couple months. Work long enough to qualify for a loan, house hack it, then go full time realtor once you can afford it. Depending on your market a few sales can give you the window you're looking for to really go full time and not worry about the bills.