What steps to take to start real estate

18 Replies

If you're an aspiring agent: Get your license and become an assistant at a brokerage. If they're not hiring for assistants, ask about internship. That's the best way to learn, according to Graham Stephan. I'm 20 and in your shoes. Going to pull the trigger on this.

Network with other investors and figure out what others are doing in the market you want to invest in. Make sure that your market meets your goals. Do you want cash now? Invest in cash flowing markets. Let me know if you need help clearing the mud. :)

I know this isn't the most exciting of answers, but when you do decide to pull the trigger on a property it's really helpful to have your tax documents, pay stubs, and bank statements scanned and uploaded to Google Drive in advance. 

I'd start meeting with agents now and start building that relationship. I had been talking with my agent for a couple months before deciding on the house I wanted, and since she had worked with the listing agent before, she was able to get my offer priority. So make those relationships now! It could make the difference between whether or not you get the property you want.

You'll probably need more cash than you think for the first property. I was eager to start investing too, and it's easy to forget you'll also need cash for inspections, deposits, closing costs, on top of any personal life things that come up. Your car might need new tires the same day the down payment comes out of your checking account, and that's just a lot more stress than you need haha.

Best of luck!