New agent looking for advice

7 Replies

Hey everyone, Im a new agent out of southern california and i must admit that i am stuck.. Ive paid all the necessary fees, got my license and ready to rock and roll but i have no idea what im supposed to be doing. Is there some kind of training that my broker is supposed to provide to me? I have no idea, im just so lost on what im supposed to be doing not only as an agent but a NEW agent. Anyone out there with any advice?

Im particularly struggling to find clients and market myself.

Congrats on taking on a career in RE.  I would say your training expectations should be based on the firm you joined.  Don't expect as much from a $50/mo 100% commission company vs one that offers superior training like KW or ReMax.  Build your sphere and "touch" your sphere, 36 times a year via phone, text, email, b'day cards, gifts, coffee, etc. Make it a goal to have conversations about real estate daily with anyone...prospects, other agents, past clients, your dentist....and so on. Doesn't have to be salesy. Network, work on personal development and build a youtube channel on a specific niche or neighborhood. The Miracle Morning for REA was a good one for me.  If you don't have it in you to be self-starter, join a productive team as suggested above.  It's on you to interview and find the right team for your path.  Best wishes, it isn't as easy as the general public believes it is.

Joining a team is going to be your best bet. In terms of how to find one, I'd do some research. Who is an agent in your city that has the business you want? If you could be any agent in your city in 5 years, who would it be?

Once you know who that person is, go to them and make yourself indispensable so you can join their team and learn from them