Business Website? Yay or Nay

8 Replies

Of course when you become licensed initially there are so many to-do lists and articles to read about what you should do first, it can become very overwhelming quickly. A topic of discussion I have seen on a lot of the "you definitely want this" lists, is your own personal website. The brokerage I am with has their own already but my goal to develop my own brand and would like to have a website that reflects that mission. My biggest question is whether or not agents have found their website to be useful and if so, did they hire out the building of it or did they design it themselves. Please note I have very little website building experience but can navigate my way around sites like Squarespace rather well. 

I don't utilize my website that often. I prefer having a social media presence. You want to have a Google my business, Zillow profile, FB page, and BP profile. 

Yes you need a website. However I would spend 10x more effort, time and money on driving traffic to said website than the site itself. 

It's a general business no-brainer that any business, regardless of what it is, should have at the very least a one-pager and have a web presence.  The added incentive for a "personal" (that is your own non-brokerage agency) site is that often times the brokerage site isn't very sexy or customizeable to really set you apart from other Realtors and entice potential clients with the value you can add to their RE journey.  In your own site you have your own control, your own particular style and message, and you can use it to drive leads in ways that fit your style better than the brokerage-branded site.

You want a website with lead generation capabilities.  There are lots of ways to go about this.  Lots of vendors out there.

To me you want to build your own brand and not depend on the brokerage.  So that means having your own phone number, own web domain, own database, your own app.