Realtor contract, but want other realtors feeding deals my way. Suggestions?

12 Replies

Hey everyone,

I apologize if this is answered elsewhere, but I couldn't find what I was looking for. I am looking for my first SFH or duplex in central Texas, from NE San Antonio to south Austin. This covers a LOT of territory - Schertz, Cibolo, San Marcos, New Braunfels, Lockhart, Kyle, Buda, etc. I have an exclusive agreement with a Realtor that is based in San Antonio. However, I have realtors interested in sending deals my way closer to Austin and surrounding area, but I'm locked in. Is there an agreement that would allow a different realtor bring me a deal, have my realtor close on it and get the commission, and offer the realtor that brought me the property a % of the profits once I flip it? Is this completely unorthodox, or do others do something similar?

Hopefully this isn't a completely amateur question, but hey, I am an amateur at this point! 

Thanks in advance for the feedback.

I wouldn't think an "agreement" would be a binding contract... I think you should be able to terminate your agreement with the realtor. I had an agreement with a realtor to sell some property for me, after 6 months of no phone calls or any contact from her whatsoever, I contacted her and had her send me a contract that terminated our agreement. I now have a more competent realtor listing my property.

Tell the agent that they have not provided you with the information requested and that you wish to terminate the buyer's representative agreement. (If you haven't signed the agreement, there is nothing to be concerned about.) No agent would want a client to be bound to an agreement if they want out. On the other hand, if the agent did provide information/assistance that results in a sale they deserve their commission.

@Jarrod Weaver  @Dusty Warner