How do I borrow money from German Banks!

2 Replies

Hello All, 

So here is a difficult question,  How do Americans borrow money from German Banks?  Usually Mortgage lending is closely tied to National Government bonds.  Well the German bund(bond) is at never before seen levels because of the flight to safety in the entire Eurozone.   

So how do we take advantage of that?    

@Peter Grosso  

Peter, I have no specific experience with german banks but having bought property internationally before I have to assume that a german bank would likely only give you a mortgage for property in Germany or the euro zone. I highly doubt you would be able to lend money from them (other than maybe a personal loan if you have a relationship with them) for property you bought in the US for example.

For example, my US bank would not (I did ask them) loan me money to purchase a property internationally (how would they verify the property, appraise it, do their due diligence, etc). Under certain conditions, they were willing to loan me money on a personal loan but the interest rates were personal loan rates. But even for a personal loan, they wanted me to provide extensive information about the asset I was buying.