Kinds of loans

4 Replies

This is more of an informative question for a contractor to be working with a developer. Since my journey on trying to get into RE, I stumbled on the power of OPM or from lenders. Ever since our company operated, we have never had to borrow from anyone else except immediately family thru company-company loan. So I have zero experience on applying for a loan or getting it approved, or what is fair or not.

I have been talking to a developer to do the flooring and paint on their 75 condos. He decided to visit me today and i was on the end of all jobs except one and had to gather everyone to one place and take a break longer while waiting for the next project. Anyway, he saw the capacity and offered the cabinet and bathroom jobs to get priced, i do not bid on jobs where i know if they snag on payment, i would be able to pay the labor for a week more. I politely told him that I will evaluate my resources and will give an answer next week. I ran random numbers, and surely I won't be able to do it alone as it is about 25-30k per @ 75 total units divided in 5 phases.

My question is, what type of loan will i be searching for when doing some google/approaching individuals/banks that will allow me to get the financial confidence to bid on these kind of jobs. Normally I will walk away directly in something like this, but I wanted advise first before doing so. or what are my best options in cases like this? Thanks BP!

You are describing a business operations loan, a commercial loan based on your collateral, experience, management abilities and credit as well as the operation or jobs to be funded.

Your question could take a book to address, your best bet is to simply talk to your bank in the commercial loan department. All you need is confidence going in, they will guide you from there in the process.

You can also talk to your accountant as you'll need your financial statements and tax returns for about the past 3 years.