Can I title a house to my S-Corp and sell to myself later on?

6 Replies

I’m trying to see if the broker I’m working with if correct or not. 

I’m buying a house to fix the foundations and a few other things then out a mortgage underbit and use as my personal residence.

I rehab houses for a living and have an S-Corp I run my business through. 

My broker is telling me I can’t title/deed the house to my company and then sell it to myself and my fiancé after the repairs are done and put a mortgage under it. 

I’m borrowing the money the initially buy the house . Then once foundation is fixed we can get the mortgage under it as it will not make past appraisal is the current condition. 

Thank in advance! 

@Cole Mitchell

So, why do you think using the S-Corp is helpful?  It seems to me that you are potentially missing out on the tax advantage of living in your flip.  If you live in it for at least 2 years, you can avoid paying any tax on the appreciation.  If you rehab it in the S-Corp and sell it to yourself, wouldn't you have some taxable profit in the S-Corp?   Why not just buy it personally, rehab, and do a cash out refi?

that's not an option, unfortunately. We played with that idea but we are doing an FHA mortgage After the house foundation is fixed. The refi isn't possible to do for 12 months because of regulations and that's not going to work with the time frame I'm on.

I would do conventional  but I’m not qualified credit wise.  Well are oolanning in living in the house for a year or two maybe more 

what I’m told is that I( my company/s-Corp) can sell the house to me personally 

This doesn’t sound accurate as every house I’ve sold  is sold from my company to the buy an individual. 

Is he incorrect ? Or am I? 

@Cole Mitchell