Need a lender that will take apprasial already completed

12 Replies

in my experience  the appraiser would have to change the name of who the client is to the new lender .

just taking an appraisal that was done for someone else you lose the E and O insurance  

Best bet for a solid lead here is to post the AMC used for the one lender and hope any lenders who use that AMC will chime and see if they can just get it re-certified- Worth a shot

Originally posted by @Debbie Farrell :

I am a broker and I have a client that wants to change lenders due to terms of loan not being what they originally said, what other lender will take his existing appraisal?

For us, we are happy to have the appraisal re-assigned to us. The appraiser usually charges the borrower some money (probably $150) for the honor of him (the appraiser) bestirring himself and lifting his typing finger to change the the lender name at the front of the document and hitting the send button.

If the appraisal was done by an AMC that is not on our approved list, our underwriting team will do a desktop review of the appraisal. If the appraisal comps used vary too much from our guidelines or other issues are found then we will insist on another BPO or Appraisal take place.

The only type that is usually transferable is FHA because it has a specific case number. Given that this is HML, it will be a new appraiser.

Benjamin clearly demonstrated that there are lenders willing to accept a previous lenders appraisal.  There are also plenty of lenders that will not for various reasons that mostly come down to how an organization decides to deal with compliance.