15 Rehabs in 10 Months in Baltimore City!

214 Replies

Hello BP,

I started my real estate investment career a little over a year ago. I bought my first three properties within two months of each other. Two of these were turn key rentals and the other was a rental rehab that I did the work myself(I was an apprentice carpenter in college). I immediately saw the benefit of the increased equity and forced appreciation of the property I did rehab. That was when I realized that buying turn key properties and paying for someone else's rehab profit wasn't for me! If there was a rehab profit whether it be in cash or equity it was going to me mine! I immediately starting looking for very distressed properties and finally closed on my first one in late January 2016. Since then and in just 10 months I have rehabbed 15 properties in many different areas and economic levels within Baltimore City. I have rehabbed properties from the high end Canton area of 21224($80,000 rehab) all the way to Biddle street in 21213, where I bought a house for only $9,000. I started out with one general contractor and now I have three full time GCs and number of handymen and subcontractors. I started out only doing one rehab at a time, but I have subsequently expanded to currently working on four different rehab projects simultaneously.

I have made many mistakes and I have learned countless lessons while rehabbing properties in a very diverse area like Baltimore city in just the last 10 months. I have decided to share as many of these lessons with the BP community as I can (since I can contribute a lot of my success from what I have learned on this site). I have a general idea of how I would like to share these lessons I have learned but this will be a fluid thread that will change with comments and advice. I plan to go through each property individually, providing before and after pictures and the success and failures of each property.