Real Estate Deal Analysis & Advice

User Stats

Votes
Joseph Breamer
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • San Luis Obispo, CA
Votes |
Our First Out of State BRRRR! Details + Pictures!

Joseph Breamer
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • San Luis Obispo, CA
Posted May 2 2020, 09:38

Hey, BP!

My partner, @Eryka Santoyo and I completed our first BRRRR this past February and wanted to share as much detail as we could about the process because that's what was so freely and generously given to us as we started on this journey of real estate investing!

BACKGROUND:

We’re going to go way back here to how we got into real estate in the first place. I had known from basically the moment I graduated college that I wanted something more than the 9-5 lifestyle. Once I started full-time work in 2016, that was confirmed even more. Don’t get me wrong, I was grateful for the opportunities I received, but I wanted more. I wanted challenge, excitement and to break away from financial dependence and work towards financial freedom. Enter the world of real estate investing. I studied for two and a half years about everything to do with real estate investing, I became a BP Pro member (shout out to everyone who contributes to BP, the wealth of knowledge here is incredible and truly helped me figure out where I wanted to invest), I read tons of real estate books, and had been saving every penny for years to build up my cash to invest. I live in CA and I knew that I couldn’t “invest in my own backyard” comfortably, the risk was too high for me. I actually landed on my market, Huntsville, AL, through the help of my industry. Huntsville was being mentioned constantly because of the new growth projected to hit the city. Huntsville had already been on my radar, but the buzz around Huntsville confirmed I was on the right track. I booked a flight out to Huntsville and knew immediately I wanted to invest there! Everything I had heard about it (economic growth, new construction, rent