• Santa Maria, CA
Votes |
Getting a GC license as an Owner builder

David Maldonado
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Santa Maria, CA
Posted Feb 23 2023, 19:53

Hey everyone,

So I applied to test for a GC license in California, but was short on experience. My BA got me 24 months of experience and my owner builder experience only gave me 4 months. As an owner builder, I built 3 ADUs and 1 JADU (subbed out the structure build and I did all the finish work). I did qualify I quit my job last month to focus more on real estate investing, and I want a GC license so I can contract my own builds. I know that I can keep going as an owner builder, but I also want to build new construction commercial properties, as well as having the GC license for credibility when working with other investors in the future. 

I love everything about construction. I first got into construction to save money on labor when I built my first ADU as an owner builder. I enjoyed the hard labor and comradery that I missed from my Navy days working in engineering.

My question is, how do I go about getting more experience on paper without having to commit to an employer/contractor for a long-term position?  Are there any investors on here that got their GC license later on and went on to contract your own builds?

User Stats

Votes
Bruce Woodruff
Pro Member
#4 All Forums Contributor
  • Contractor/Investor/Consultant
  • West Valley Phoenix
Votes |
Pro Member
  • West Valley Phoenix
Replied Feb 24 2023, 11:42

You have to have the required experience. The only work-around is to find a GC that you know well, (and who trusts you) and have them sign off on the experience. YEs, it's cheating, but you won't be the first who has done this.

Side note - I never understood why a college degree counts for S**t towards being a GC. IMO, that is complete BS. People who went to college are generally the absolute worst at construction...left brain/right brain thing.

User Stats

Votes
Ryan Normand
  • Contractor