No thinset under cement board

21 Replies

Just went to inspect some work and noticed they weren't using thinset to lay down the cement board under porcelain tile.

When I asked the contractor, he asked his flooring guy who had been doing tile for 25 years and "never puts thinset under cement board".

Our agreement was to put down cement board and tile.

Nothing was specifically said about thinset. The manufacturer dictates to use thinset between subfloor and cement board.

It is 1/2" durock over 1" nominal thick plank.

For the record, this is my first time really contracting anything. It's been all me and cheap DIY/Craigslist hacks before this, so I am willing to take pointers on how I could have/should have done something different.

Should I have been more specific in work instructions?

Should I demand he redo the job to what I think is the right way?

Should I meet him in the middle and pay a bit more?

Most of the 375sq ft of tile is already down.

What would you do?

I've never used thinset under cement board, for what it's worth.

I'm not sure you really have standing to make him do it the way you think is right...you say yourself you're a DIY guy and he's the pro...tread carefully

Yeah just talked to my friend who does flooring for a living. He said he doesn't put thinset under.

The manufacturers all require it.

I'll probably not make a big deal of this.

I do whatever manufacture recommends on my jobs so I can gain their warranties and I can warranty my work properly. If my guys did that I would have them pull it up because I can't warranty it.

I did not use to put thin set on before I knew about it and haven't had a call back.

I probably would leave it since you have adequate subfloor and either ask is next time or find another tiler. Theres plenty of people out there that do good work that will take direction.