Working with contractors

14 Replies

Good morning BP family,

I am new to the real estate investing world and I have a few questions.  I am meeting a realtor at a property in the Puyallup, Wa to take a look at a potential deal.  My questions are as follows:

1. should I have a contractor there to run estimates or does that come at a later date?

2. if I have a contractor there, what questions do I need to expect from the contractor and what questions do I need to ask the contractor?

thank you reading and have a good day.

Leonnard

Hard to answer your questions without more information. Why are you looking at the property?  What makes it a deal? Are you planning to fix and flip?  Buy and hold? Wholesale? What is your RE strategy?  Don't look at Real Estate Investing as a transaction. It can be a very painful mistake. 

Here are my thoughts on your questions based on the info provided....

1. should I have a contractor there to run estimates or does that come at a later date?

Depends on the circumstance- if you know it's likely that you'll be placing an offer and need to do it quickly then yes it's ideal to have everyone there especially when you're just getting started. I caution though- do not expect your contractor to walk thru every single house with you. Get good at taking a lot of pictures of prospect houses to forward via email for ball park estimates.

2. if I have a contractor there, what questions do I need to expect from the contractor and what questions do I need to ask the contractor?

As mentioned above, these questions will depend on what your strategy is. Will this be just a paint and carpet or are we talking about a full gut rehab? Once you determine that, the next questions should be "How much" "When can you start" and "When will you be completed"