Getting a license

9 Replies

I am a licensed Realtor and I am looking into possibly getting my residential builders license.  I see there is a  60 hr course to take, but what else is involved?  Do I hold my own license, or do I need someone else to hold it like a Realtor must do with his broker?  Are there boards that are required to subscribe to?

I want to help a friend and possibly others as a project manager of sorts acting as the General Contractor.  I was going to manage the rehab without paying any of the subcontractors directly, but have been advised I would still need a license for this activity.

Thank you

What is the difference between this license and a general contracting license? They sound similar in your context but I'm just assuming here.

If they are the same license then no it is not like realtor who still needs a broker. You can be an independent contractor and hold full responsibility for projects under your name.

This exam has gotten very difficult over the years (in Florida at least) and requires an abundance of book reading if you are not experienced in the field already. I'd like to say it is 9 (may be 12) books in total in which the exam is based on.

This is specifically in reference to a general contracting license. Not sure what residential builder is.

I, living in wisconsin, had to take a 300 question open book multiple choice test online through a qualified trainer. Once that was passed I had to apply to a contractor qualifier and a contractor's license with the state. The only other requirement was the correct amount of bonding or insurance....