using contractors to estimate repair costs

13 Replies

I'm trying to nail down my 1st rental property and one of the things I need to do is get a good estimate on repair costs via a walk through of the property.  Since I've never done this before and don't have a construction background I would need a contractor to perform the walk through with me and quote me the total repair costs.  My question is, are there contractors out there willing to quote the cost of the job for free or do they always charge a fee?  I can picture myself walking through multiple properties and paying a decent chunk of change just to see if the property would fit the formula where the numbers work.  I'm doing this in the Connecticut area if that makes a difference or if anyone has any referrals.

Thanks!

Pat, contractors in my experience are willing to do free estimates, however if you are just asking to give estimates on possible rental acquisitions they will not keep doing them free just to see if it fits your budget. There are some formulas out there that can help you figure out the cost of work base on square footage and geographic area to get a ballpark figure of the cost. These formulas help you figure carpet , HWF , roof, drywall , painting, siding costs. In terms of plumbing and electrical,,,, there is a base for the per hours of a job and the intricacy of the task , if a full panel update and plumbing if all new or partial replacement. Ask a plumber and electrician to come with you on site and ask them questions as to how they figure the cost and take notes , that would help you formulate your own estimates after speaking with several of them. Praise their skill with positive comments and their ego will pour more information that your can gather. Hope this helps you  Ed