Contractor for Beam replacement

2 Replies

I’m trying to find a good contractor who can replace the main beam. After shopping around, we narrow down to 2 contractors.

Contractor A has good reviews online and offered me to do the job for $13k. He has proper company website which we can check on his jobs. And he actually took us to see his current job site so I kind of feel he is very honest and open. But he hasn’t talked about the payment process or contract etc yet.

Contractor B has no reviews available online and offered me to do the job with $2.5k retainer fee upfront. Total estimate is less than $10k. He seems to be a good reputable guy and has prepared the contract with details of the job process.

Could anyone share your thought, tips,or experience in terms of picking a good contractor if you have similar project experience in the past? Since it is my first time to hear retainer fee, I am being extra cautious..

Any comments or sharing is helpful.

@Hahna Reyes

I'm biased as a licensed engineer, and I don't know the details of what you're dealing with but I'd bet that that project costs you about:

~$1000 max in materials

2 weeks full time labor, max

So, that might give you a feel for what you should be paying.  If you want to provide more project details I'd be happy to weigh in more.  We do post/beam projects often to add value and adjust floor plans in our rehabs.  Because I'm an engineer, my first step is to draw up plans (do a design).  I'd be reluctant to commit this project to a contractor, especially if your jurisdiction is going to require engineering anyways - in this case, your contractor would be hiring an engineer to do plans, as a sub - which is totally backwards.

I'd be looking to pay the 1.5k or whatever it takes for a really good set of engineered plans, that can be built off of.