Im new to this, where should I start?

8 Replies

Hello! 

I'm (brand) new to this community. I actually was doing my due-diligence and doing some research on TheLandGeek and google led me to a rant thread that brought me to this site.  I noticed a lot of informed and intelligent responses to the poster's complaint and I thought this community seemed like a well-informed and knowledgeable group. 

I have just started taking my finances seriously, I'm 25 years old (wish I came to this realization earlier when I was... 12) and I have been trying to find the best ways to let my money grow. I have, from day one (let's say October 10th actually), aimed to make informed decisions and go about everything in a prepared and studied manner. My first move was to put money into the stock market. I have been reading books about stocks and investing, following people who I feel are pragmatic and honest in their evaluation of companies and the market in general, and followed up by reading the SEC filings of companies I invest in. I'm not investing to make a quick dollar, I am investing to maximize my returns and master the areas where I put my money. 

That aim to master my respective areas of investment has led me here (accidentally). I have had an interest in someday buying property, I cannot afford it at this point in my life, but in the future when I have adequate money to make the move I will certainly consider it. Until then, I want to learn as much as I can so once the choice is made I can approach the market an expert in everything but actual hands-on practice. 

I am here to learn and make connections.

So, where can I start?